Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Helmets - Colours, safety and heat

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by tallstreak, Jul 21, 2011.

1. Hi all
    Im new to motorbikes and currently looking at helmets. After trying a number of them on I do fancy the HJC IS-16. it fits well and is well within my budget. So now I'm trying to pick a plain Colour - black gloss/matt or silver

My question relates to colour selection based on visibility and safety of black or silver rather than fashion or matching riding gear (bike is black as is my jacket), and the comfort factor, if there is a difference?

Sorry if this has been answered before - I tried searching but didn't find what I was after
  2. Buy what looks nice to you rather than what will be easily spottable by other people on the road.

The honus is on you to be in a position to be spotted and no bright pink helmets will help if you linger in the blind spot.

Proper roadcraft will help you get spotted, not your clothing.
  3. matt black will draw more heat
    and if you live in victoria the sky is always cloudy, so silver blends right into the back ground

HJC IS-16 Black

Advanced Polycarbonate Composite Shell (better off getting fibroglass than a ping pong ball)
    Lightweight, superior fit and comfort using advanced CAD technology.

One-touch Integrated SunShield:
    Smoke-tinted 3-stage adjustable SunShield deploys quickly and easily (patent pending).

RapidFire™ Shield Replacement System:
    Quick, secure, tool-less removal and installation.

“ACS” Advanced Channeling Ventilation System:
    Full front to back airflow flushes heat and humidity up and out.

SilverCool™ Interior: