Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

HELMET STRAP Extensions

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' at netrider.net.au started by billa911, Jan 9, 2012.

1. Hi Guys..

I am new to netrider. I recently bought a helmet and its straps are kinda short to go around the Double D rings. It was my mistake that I didnt check that while buying but is there any way or any extenders I can get to fix my problem.

Please help!

2. Short answer, no. Not without rendering your helmet illegal.

3. wats the illegal solution if its a safe bet?

4. It's not safe, Are you sure the straps are not adjustable?

5. yes, they are small to go around. Looks like they were built for a skinny face. I went back to the shop and they couldn't do nothing either (as expected)..

How about I cut the existing strip, buy the same kinda strap market and hot glue it to make it longer?

• Like Like x 1
  6. That won't work.
    Just get over it if you want to survive a crash then don't mess with the straps.
    If it's a brand new helmet then try a refund stating the reasons for it, otherwise take more care next time when purchasing a helmet.
    Chin straps are designed for a reason and they must not be tampered with or you will be sorry.

7. Under consumer law - helmet is not fit for purpose as can not be retained on the head as its intended purpose

I am suprised the straps do not work - better check that it is a AS/NZS 1698:2006 approved helmet by looking inside it to make sure it has the relavent labeling sewn into the liner

Take it back - ask for a refund or exchange or credit towards another helmet

as smee has stated dont play with the straps otherwise you will make the helmet as effective as an ice cream container on your head