Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Helmet lifespan?

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' at netrider.net.au started by duncan_bayne, Sep 17, 2013.

1. #1 duncan_bayne, Sep 17, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2013
    Hi Folks,

For the first time in my life, I've gone five years without a crash! (And I don't mean just since I started riding motorcycles ... one of my earliest memories was overcooking a corner on my tricycle and stuffing it through a cactus plant.)

This has got me to thinking of helmet lifespan. I've a nice Shark helmet that I picked up back in late 2007, but I'm concerned that it may need replacing.

For those folks here who aren't regular crashers, how often do you replace your helmet? What's the recommended schedule?

Yours,
    Duncan

2. I recently replaced my helmet after I'd owned/used it for three years, but it was manufactured in early 2009. It was over four years old when I changed over to the new helmet.

I believe the recommendation is to replace between four and five years from manufacture, regardless of use.

3. Sounds like it's time to replace mine ... might have to go shopping with my first pay from my new job. I need a new road suit as well - my current cordura jacket predates my helmet and is about as waterproof as tissue paper these days.

4. Congratulations!! Celebrate by buying a new helmet.

5. Cactus plant ? Ouch ! I did something similar at about age 4 , 2 wheeling the tricycle thru the side gate and ending up in the rose bushes - can still see one of the scars 44yrs later . The cheaper plastic lids from memory they recommend changing around 2yr mark , while tri-composite are 5 , or maximum 8 if helmet not used day in day out . Only going on what ive read in the magazines over the years .