Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Helmet hair! aaargh!

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by blackjacket, Aug 21, 2007.

1. I started riding not long ago, and my hair is not that long, maybe 10-20cm around the top/front and pretty short around the sides.

I used to gel it back, but it was pretty useless after being through a helmet so I stopped. My hair now just bunches up in a mop at the front. That's after I've run wet fingers through it and it's dried. Straight out of the helmet, its a big mass of wiry tumble weed. :oops:

What do you guys do? I tried some different shampoo and even conditioner (I'm a guy!!) Not much difference... I don't want to crop it all short... I'm hoping it'll get a bit more manageable when it grows longer, say down to my ears.
  2. I never found a length that the helmet doesnt kill - other than shaved very short. Long hair ytou can pull it back but it still ends up flat, and you end up with knots in your ponytail. Moderate lengths get messed up.

Either aim for a "just got out of bed" hairstyle so you can run your fingers trhough it, clip it, or drive a car.
  3. Try some that restyle wax stuff, then run hand through hair when you arrive.
  4. go bald!!! truth is you don't actuality lose the hair it just stops growing on your head and starts appearing in novel new areas... :wink:
  5. I had the same problem, after one week of riding I've shaved my head.
  6. Anything longer than about a number 3 cut will cause helmet hair... and even a number 3 will on a hot summers day.

I have a number 2 cut all over my head for exactly that reason.
  7. I have a collection of baseball caps