Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Helmet differences

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by scrambler, Sep 26, 2005.

1. Hi all,
    First I'd like to say that these forums have been a great source of info and advice for me, thanks you lot.

I'm just getting started with my first bike and all, go to Vicroads tomorrow to sort out the rego and plates for it.
    I own a jacket and boots- the helmet and gloves are on loan and I want to by my own ASAP due to safety concerns about using and old helmet.
    Looking around I've noticed a huge difference in prices and was wondering if anyone could offer a newbie some advice on what your paying for/ what to look out for/ what to avoid in a helmet/ minimum spend etc.

2. Think of how much your head is worth when it comes to spending money on a helmet....

I spent $450 on a Shoei brain capsule for myself... Unofrtunately i have a "Shoei Only" head tho and not one helmet except Shoei's fit me comfortabally.
  3. Some info here:

With helmets, fit is the most important factor (the salespeople will be able to help here).
    The major differences between the cheap makes and the more expensive ones are better lining, graphics tend to be painted on rather than stickers, overall better finish and you'll find that the vents will (generally) work better. They're all noisy (you'll need earplugs if you want to keep your hearing) and they all offer similar levels of protection.
  4. The three most important things in a new helmet.
    Fit and

The helmet should be a nice snug fit, exerting light pressure evenly over the whole head. If it feels tight er across the forehead, or squashes your jaw, try another brand. There is a diference between the brands and models in the way they fit.