Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

VIC Helmet camera laws

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by adi_149, Oct 12, 2016.

1. So I am new to riding and realised the importance of video-recording my rides for safety and evidence, coz some people out there are plain crazy! I have also been viewing some videos on YouTube where I felt if it wasn't for the recorded footage it would be almost impossible/difficult to prove who's mistake it was (or who was really messing around!) for the cause of the incident.

That said... I've tried to record my rides from various camera angles with the camera attached to my bike or helmet. Without doubt the helmet camera angle is the best! No vibrations, no BS! + my head-checks and speed etc are recorded as well!

So my main question is... Is is legal (in VIC) to attach cameras to helmets? Coz there has been a lot of debate abt this and VIC police has been cracking up on helmet cameras in previous years. Is this still the case? or are we finally allowed to attach cams on our helmets and the cops wont worry abt it? I wanna know wat is legal coz I dont want to end up paying fines just because the cops are trying to find some ginny-pig to fulfil their monthly quota lol :p

I tried to search this online but been getting a lot of mixed opinions... can someone please clear this once and for all? Any input is appreciated.... thanks heaps!