Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

hello

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by monkey nuts, Apr 6, 2005.

1. Hello all

I'm new to bikes and want to know where to go for a bike and where do people meet in melbourne

2.  Top
  3. Well that is a way to open a can of worms, lots of bike stores along Elizabeth street. As to where people meet then the standard coffee night on Friday is a good place for Netriders. Starting at around 5pm onwards in front of the Bear Brass at Southbank.

Welcome to Netrider, the lunacy starts now.

4. me too..... new to bikes that is!

i've posted the same message, re:where to shop...

online: bikesales.com.au
    autotrader.com.au
    bikepoint.ninemsn.com.au
    tradingpost.com.au

other than that...

elizabeth st in the city has most of the bike dealers.

out east of melb seems to be where most of the netriders seem to recommend though.

5. sumoto seemed ok apart from the bloody loud music they had going on in there. What wrong with them?

6. Dodgy. Sumoto always sounds good to new riders. I'm sure there's some people with a couple of sumoto stories here.

I don't like the way they say something like 2004 ZZR-250, when it actually means a 1993 ZZR-250 which has been complianced to 2004. New riders never know what compliance really means =\, and Sumoto will never tell you. It's a marketing ploy to get you to think you're buying the newest. Sad thing is, it works.

7. went to peter stevens the place looked good. are these guys ok?

8. yeah...until they get your money, after that its who are you....

ohh and welcome to the forum...

9. no.....no they aren't "ok" at all!!

https://netrider.net.au/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3758