Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hello ;-)

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Eberbachl, Feb 22, 2005.

1. Hi there,

Just posting an introduction. Been reading Netrider forums for a few days now, after stumbling across it in google.

Great site ;) keep up the good work!

I've been riding for about 13 years or so - currently have a '96 GSX750F, and live in Plenty - in the northern suburbs of Melbourne.

My wife Hayley also rides. She's got an Across :D Hayley got her L's in late 2003, and passed her full license test mid last year after being a pillion passenger of mine for a few years. Hayley's currently pregnant, so she's not riding at the moment. I'm taking the Across out for her each week or so to keep it ticking over ;)

I actually found Netrider when doing research for a new bike!

In mid January I was hit from behind in heavy traffic by a driver who...

"didn't notice the traffic was slowing down " :roll:

...And my beloved '85 GPZ900R died a horrible death :( I suffered a few relatively minor injuries - some lumbar spine bruising, and a fractured left shoulder blade. I'm still a little sore, but certainly on the mend, and able to ride again now. The minimal injuries I suffered are a great testament to wearing good safety gear.

Ironically - if I had been lane splitting, I wouldn't have been hit! LOL Sometimes I split in heavy traffic if I'm in the mood, but on this particular morning, I didn't feel like it, and was content to sit behind the car in front - to my detriment! Oh well, it's happened now - hindsight is great :p

Anyway, I ended up buying a GSX750F to replace the old GPZ900R. Picked it up last week, and really enjoying it so far ;)

Here's a pic of my new bike (after I peeled a few of the stripey decals off) ;)