Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hello To All!

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Exodus, Nov 13, 2012.

1. G'Day,

Well I was put on to this site by a friend of a friend. Oddly enough the friend of a friend does not have any interest in motorbikes, so how is that!

A little about me, I've been driving for ten years and always wanted to ride a bike. Finally, last week I got my learners and picked up my first bike on the weekend! Since lunchtime Saturday I've put 200km's on the clock.

Bike wise I got myself a nice shiny new 2012 Kawasaki ER-6NL with ABS. Given I have a few rather large hills in my area, and I'me a rather tall and heavy person, the 650cc gets me around nicely, that and I really do love the look of the naked.

Sunday I did my first decent ride, about 150km's in one hit. Lots of roundabouts, freeways and stop start work. I took a lot away from it which was good. I picked up very quickly that my cornering needs a lot of work (and I've already found the 101, 102, 103 and 104 threads on this forum!), I also noted the perils of being on the road, I had a nice shiny new bike with a big (and very obvious), shiny L-Plate and shiny leathers - basically it all yelled out that it was new and (most likely), I had no experience. Yet I was still tail-gated by several cars and had one car almost rear end me at a stop sign while I waited for traffic to pass while completing a turn. However, it is all a learning experience, and these are the things I imagine I'll have to deal with on a daily basis from here on in.