Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

hello the open road

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by BruiserMadden, Oct 8, 2007.

1. hey greaseball noob here.
    always wanted to get a bike licence, having been riding ag bikes around since i couldnt reach the ground on them, so getting something thats not so gutless is gonna be great. im in vic, and turn 18 in march. looking for something sporty, yada yada yes i know, buy a POS, but im with the other camp in saying its just not what i want.
    i'm tall, 6'5, so most of the sporty 250's out there are gonna be a squeeze.

need some advice on what bike to get though. i like the look of the CBR250RR's, and understand they fair go, and won't lose their value provided i don't wash the road with it, but im not sure if it's going to be big enough. hyosung 250 bigger maybe?

before you say it, i haven't had time to go out and sit on any bikes yet, so just looking for any initial suggestions as to which ones i should go and check out, and am going to be able to get for a reasonable price second hand, and repairs aren't going to cost me my manhood. :)
    since its in vic its gotta be a 250,
    but shes gotta go!

cheers

james

2. the CBR250RR and ZX2R's are tiny. With you on one it'll be like watching a person with a wheel coming out of each end going down the street.

the Hyo 250 is a 650 sized frame, so better for someone your size... but then you're on a Hyo :LOL:

have a look at the Suzuki GS500f?

3. get the cbr250rr, it will be perfect for you!

be sure to post pictures of you on it :grin: :bolt:

4. Hi James and welcome to the forum. As a fellow bean pole (6ft 4) I am going to suggest a second hand VTR250.