Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hello from Brissy

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by SullyMartin, Nov 25, 2013.

1. Hi

I have been riding a scooter for a few years and sick of it. I want a automatic motorbike but they only have CF Motor and hugh one like 600 up.

Went to a Honda dealer on Saturday and they told me that it is easy to learn manual. I love riding scooters and I would like to upgrade but could not be bothered changing gears. To me its like a car, if you live in the city you have an automatic unless your under 35. Well I am nearly 60 and don't see why I should stop riding because of my age but can definetely see the logic in automatic.

I can't even get a V5 in Queensland to test been trying for 3 weeks. Honda said they are crap but they are not riding it. If it feels good to me then I would just buy it but without trying it is crazy.

I have read everything I can and do not see any good brands bringing them out. Buy the time they do I'll probably be 70 and I don't think my husband will agree.

That's my story
  2. Welcome!

I regularly ride with several guys in their 70s and one in his 80s who comes along now and then. All are quite capable of handling their bikes (all 650 and up manual machines) on the open road, so I see no reason to stop riding if you don't want to.

As for automatic bikes: http://motorcycles.honda.com.au/Touring/CTX700/D
  3. Hi and welcome, Sully.

Yeah, the choice of automatic motorbikes is a bit limited.

I kinda fancied at least trying the big Honda VFR1200, but when I sat on it, I wasn't comfy and it was really too big and heavy for me.

When you are riding the scooter, do you ride with your feet fairly well forward?