Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hello from Auckland

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by ConfigT, Jun 6, 2015.

1. Hi all, I'm a kiwi (new zealander not the fruit)

I've been riding for about 4 years and my current bike is a GSX-R600. My riding includes commuting, trackdays, and interesting roads on weekends.

Anyway a few riding buddies and I are planning a trip to the Phillip Island GP in October and we'll have a few extra days after the race to do some riding around VIC.

The plan is to stay on the island for the 3 days that the GP is on and then head back to Melbourne to hire some bikes. So far we've only got Great Ocean Road planned because we don't really know of any other good roads yet. If anyone would like to suggest an awesome 1-2 day ride for us that would be cool.

I've never been to Australia before so really looking forward to it!
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Welcome, plenty of Vics on here to guide you. I love the high country myself and always make Lake Eildon an overnight stop.
  3. G'day ConfigT, welcome to NR. Sounds like a great motorcycling trip ahead for you.

I'd second Mcsenna's suggest of visiting the Victorian high country, perhaps across the Great Alpine Road through Mt Hotham and on to Bairnsdale.
  4. In two days you probably won't have time to do the Great Alpine Road (GAR) and the Great Ocean Road (GOR)

For Day 1 the GOR I would suggest MAP
    It does the East side of the bay, Arthurs seat which is a nice windy climb, the ferry across to Queenscliff ($35 about an hour to cross) the GOR to Lavers Hill and then back by Temperate rain forest, Turton's track back on to the GOR and then back to Melbourne. The last section back to Melbourne is boring highway, heavily patrolled, fixed speed cameras etc so take that part easy.