Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hello from a n00b in Melbourne

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by gundy, Sep 16, 2011.

1. Hi,

My name is Dave. I'm thirty-something, live in Melbourne, work in IT, have been riding pushbikes for a while, but I'm new to powered 2-wheelers (~2 months and 1,000km so far). I'm currently riding a VTR250.

I'm reasonably mechanically minded. I had a project car that rebuilt when space wasn't at a premium, but downsizing houses has meant that a bike now makes more sense as a means to satisfy my mechanical curiosities, allow me to have a bit of fun with friends, and help out with commuting requirements. My wife graciously allowed this to happen, so here I am.

I haven't had too many "oh-^%$#" moments yet. Riding the pushbike through and around Melbourne has taught me to treat all fellow road-users as potential threats, and I tend to ride pretty cautiously while surrounded by traffic.

A couple of the things that currently scare me the most are riding at highway speeds, especially with cars close behind, and riding in the rain. I think the latter is about not having a safe way of knowing where the limits of traction are, and how much the rain has affected things. As a consequence I tend to really nana things. I guess that's probably a good thing for a learner.

I'm hoping to come out to the Saturday learners session to say hello, and brush up on the skills. I really appreciate the fact that a forum like Netrider exists, and look forward to meeting some of you.

2. Welcome Dave, what part of Melbourne are you in?
  3. Welcome Dave :)
  4. Welcome to NR Dave.