Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hello, ER6f or FZ6? - first post.

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Mordeth, Apr 3, 2006.

1. ER6f

2. FZ6

0 vote(s)
  3. get a horse....better for the environment

0 vote(s)
  1. Greetings all. My first post here. I've been riding for about 11 years and my last bike was a CBR600RR.
    [IMG:152:115:8162dd0c9b]http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/7199/bikke8cr.th.jpg[/img:8162dd0c9b] <-- my actual (ex)bike

I sold it about 7 months ago, although I do have two scooters I still ride. Summer is coming and the rain is stopping and the scooters just don't cut it for long distance travel anymore.

My choices are: A new Kawasaki ER6f: http://www.motoring.co.za/index.php?fSectionId=759&fArticleId=3047213

Or a 2nd hand FZ6n : http://www.fivestaryamaha.com.au/new_bike_details.asp?id=4

A friend of mine owns a Kwak dealership...and it'd be nice to buy from him. But I have already seen one 650R on the net with a deffective frame (it bust at a weld point...for no reason). And I'm a bit leary about buying the first years model of a new type of bike.

The FZ6n could save me some money. And on paper it makes more power, has better brakes, suspension....and is more similiar to the style of my last bike..the CBR (but I'm not sure if that's a good point or bad one).

Sometimes I think if I buy the FZ6 (inline 4) it will just feel like a weaker version of my last bike....and maybe the 650R (inline 2) would be a more interesting new experience for me.

All the reviews for the 650R are exceptional.....while the FZ6 draws more mixxed opinions. But I often here the FZ6 isn't a good beginners bike...and that it "Takes work to ride".....well, I'm no beginner.