Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hello and G'day

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' at netrider.net.au started by bombr, Sep 26, 2011.

1. Total newb here so be gentle.

Grew up riding dirt bikes on the farm before leaving Africa to seek fame and fortune. Having found neither and ending up in Sydney all grown up the desire to get back into bikes has resurfaced along with the means to do so.

Got my L's recently so now the search begins for the elusive perfect learners bike to get me up and running on the roads.

Looking forward to gleaning as much information from you guys as possible.

2. Welcome to NR. (y) We are all famous here. :)

What bikes have you shortlisted?

3. Thank's Lazy Libran,

Currently in a real quandary about suitability of the bike so very open to suggestions. Main use of the learners bike will be commuting into and out of the city so have been looking at

• Suzuki DRZ400sm - great commuter and fun bike but possibly not suitable for anything else?
    • Kawasaki Ninja 250r - best selling bike!?

Thought about a bigger bike like Yamaha XJ6r or Suzuki SV650 but came to the conclusion that I don't like idea of a restricted engine and would rather make full use of something that fits the bill and then upgrade when license allows. If I had a clear stear on what would be best to perfect my riding on then I would jump on it...

4. Welcome to the forummm. Many find the GS500 or the CB400 fit the bill nicely. What about those?

5. Thanks Brmmm,

CB400 has potential. Right at the top of my budget as not being mechanically oriented I fear 2nd hand machines i.e. I am a dealers dream customer.

Not a fan of the GS for some reason... just can't get my taste buds around it.