Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Heavy beginner rider, need help choosing first bike

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by MCT, Dec 11, 2011.

1. G'day all. I'll start by saying that I'm an absolute beginner when it comes to riding bikes. I used to ride when I was a kid, but haven't ever ridden a real bike.

I'm going to do my pre-learners Monday week and am excited! I've been wanting to do this for years and years.

So I've spent the last 2 days researching LAMS bikes and just have a few questions for the more experienced out there. I'm quite big, 6 foot and 115 kgs. I originally wanted a cruiser, but I've been told that I'm too big for a 250cc cruiser at my weight, and that I'll outgrow it quick smart, so I started looking at some of the bigger cruisers xvs650, vt400/vt600, xc535 etc, but they are out of my price range which is $5000 max.

So I've started looking at some nakeds. Do the 250cc nakeds have a bit more poke than the 250cc cruisers? Am I too tall for a 250 naked? I felt a bit silly on a 250cc cruiser...

I like the sounds of the hyosung gt650, but tbh it scares me, being a mega new rider. This is where I'm a bit stuck. The bigger bikes seem a bit scary for a noob, but I'm assured I'll hate a 250cc.

I'd still prefer a cruiser, but I'm keeping my options open.

I appreciate any advice, thanks!

2. u wont hate a 250cc.. sure u will have times u wish u had more overtaking power but theres other times lack of power may save u from doing something stupid while your still learning
    im 6'4 105kg and been riding a vtr250 for almost 2 years and have had plenty of fun but im definitely looking forward to upgrading early next year

what are you planning on using it for? commuting, freeway riding, twisties etc