Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Head shake of disappointment?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Sterny, Aug 7, 2008.

1. I've been riding for a few months now and i've developed this thing where i automatically shake my head at cagers that do stupid things at my risk. Now...usually the cager will just drive off thinking "what does he know...hes just a stupid bike rider", but today something a bit different happened.

Riding down a local street i notice a bloke in a 4WD waiting at an intersection to turn right onto my side of the road. About 3 seconds before i pass the intersection he starts to accelerate over the opposite side of the road. This i absolutely hate coz its hard to tell if they're just in a rush or if they havent seen you and are about to cut you off. So i brake hard just in case. Turns out he had seen me and was just trying to get to his destination a whole 3 second earlier by starting his turn earlyjavascript:emoticon(':mad:'), so he stops half way to let me pass. I ride away, and give him the usual head shake of disappointment. Anyway...next set of lights he pulls up next to me in the next lane, rolls down the window, asks whats wrong, and apologizes. I was speechless but happy to know that some cagers are aware of the stupid things they do.

Anyway, my real question is if and how you let cagers know that they've done something wrong/stupid? is a head shake pretty standard or does that come across as too pedantic for something small and trivial that at the end of the day, was most likely 'risk free'

2. A stern shake of the head is usually adequate; after you've kicked the door in and smashed the side mirror, that is :LOL:.
  3. I find the 5 step technique the best.

1. Stare until eye contact
    2. Shake head