Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

have I been riding long enough for a "big bike"?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by dan_, Oct 26, 2008.

1. Hey all,

I've been riding for 2 months and I've logged about 2500kms of commuting and short (<100km) trips. Already, I feel restrained by the 250cc and would love the extra capacity...

I'm on my (NSW) L's and recently have been allowed the privilege of switching from a NSW to a QLD licence - apparently if I upgrade my NSW L's to P's and then change states this would allow me to move from my NSW P's to a full QLD licence (as banana benders have no bike P's).

So having found an interesting way of going to my full licence after as little as 3 months of L's, the question I want to pose to you is this:

Do you think it's too soon to go the full bit?

(I'm looking at something like the VFR800Fi as opposed to CBR/YZF/NINJA... )

I'm no racer or speed freak but I also understand that I have sooo much to learn. I'd love a comfortable bike for mid distance hauls (~400km) that doest feel like it's going to sh!t itself or rattle off the mirrors when I give it gas...

Please don't say that I'm only as dangerous as my right wrist - I'd be more interested in hearing whether there are other beginner mistakes that are magnified by riding a stable of melbourne cup winners (or maybe harold park trots winners in the case of the VFR) as opposed to the pony club ride I'm on now.

Cheers! :)

2. Anything in particular wrong with a 500-650cc LAMS bike?

I made the jump from a VTR250 to my 1050cc Triumph Tiger after about 45,000km and 15 months. Frankly, I could be happy with half the power the 125rwhp the Tiger puts onto the road. The other half is "nice to have", but almost totally unnecessary.