Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hard to start when HOT.

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by VBman, Oct 17, 2008.

1. Ok mine starts fine when cold, but very hard to start when warm.

In fact its almost impossible to start when its warm.

It winds over and winds over, and after a LOT of winds, it starts to gently sputter, then clutter, then flutter!, then START!!. When it starts the idle is VERY slow, and slowly starts to increase by itselft and eventually stops at about 2000.

Most of the time the battery will start to chug before it gets a chance to start.

And its pissing me off because im a mechanic on cars and its quad carby and i havent worked on many carbies blah blah.

But yeah its a quad carby Kawasaki ZXR250r 1990 model.

Starts fine cold

Choke very sensitive

Almost impossible to start when warm.

Idle is very unstable when cold (2000 one second then goes up to 6000 and sits there, etc)

pls help.

*Dont say battery cos its brand new and it cranks really fast.

2. Hey, i am no expert on this either but it does sound like your bike is running a fair bit lean. The heat causes the bike to lean out. Might wanna go and check your spark plugs and see what colour, white= too lean... Hope this helps a bit :)

3. choke is stuck

4. Mine likes a tiny bit of throttle when hot, just enough to lift it from idle.

5. Couple of possibilities relevant to an oldish bike.

Carb intake rubbers probably look like a fossilised elephant's scrotum after 18 years. Could be hardened, cracked and leaking.

Difficult hot starting can be a sign of poor compression due to engine wear. The bike's 18 years old but you don't say what kms. Might be worth doing a compression test.