Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Guide to buying your first bike

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Androo, Feb 5, 2005.

1. Since there are always plenty of new riders asking about buying a first bike, I'd like to start one informatitive thread for them :)

Please put your first-bike recommendation here, as well as a short summary of the benefits (or disadvantages) of this particular bike. :D
    • Like Like x 1
  2. I'll start off with my first bike:

Kawasaki ZZR250 - great learners bike; easy to ride; comfy; kinda sporty; cheap! I got a 91 model for $3300 and sold it for $3000 when I upgraded. Much nicer then a CB250, but not as much performance as the 4-cyl bikes (like the CBR250RR).
  3. I'm a newbie currently looking at bikes to be my first. One thing I was concerned about was knowing what to look for when checking a bike over for problems/damage etc.

Some things I've picked up so far to look for include:
    • Checking the forks for any oil indicating leaks
      Checking the footpegs as well as underneath to see if excess scraping
      Radiator centred
      Frame chips/scratches
      Steering 'sloppiness'
      ... etc
    It'd be great if other more experienced riders could add to or correct any of this such that us newbie's out there can feel that little more confident that we aren't being sold a lemon. :)
  4. -check for oil leaks
    -check for good chain/sprockets
    -look at the brand and wear pattern of the tyres so you know how the previous owner used the bike
    -check out other similar bikes so you know how it should run/sound/handle/etc

-dont buy the first and only bike you look at :p