Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

GSXR Dominace In Bike Reviews

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by Valik, Oct 24, 2007.

1. I'm fairly new to the bike scene and have noticed the dominance of the GSXR's in a lot of mag reviews. While I'm sure they are not perfect, do they have any issues in the short term or long term?

If they are as good as they say I'm suprised there are not more of them on the road.

2. No idea.

But remember they're expensive to maintain and a turd to get insured. Not everybody wants a sportsbike as a ride. And in real road terms, the choice between a R1 and a GSXR comes down to erganomics, looks and whatever's better value.

3. More expensive than other sportsbikes to maintain?

Sorry if these questions sound a bit stupid but from what I've read the o7 models have had rave reviews for both track and road use. Many have commented on how great and dominate previous models have been. Given that these reviews have been from sportsbike orientated magazines it seems odd that demand is not higher.

4. The Suzuki GSXR1000 is the model that has given Suzuki all the rave reviews for the past few years, there are several reasons for that.
    It's got a great engine, the bike itself has won quite a few races in both modified superbike form and superstock set up. The ergonomics are not too extreme (read, it is possible to use them daily and tour on them) considering it's essentially a road going race bike, and the price on them is below tons of other bikes that are not necessarily better such as german, italian, and some american brands.