Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

GS500F Starting problem

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by bulby, Jul 11, 2011.

1. Hi all,

First of all, I'm totally new to motorcycling.
    Had my bike delivered last week. No problem starting it then. I took it for a few laps around the block and dropped it in slow motion while stopped. That somehow broke the clutch lever, so the bike hasn't been started since as it will only start with the clutch fully disengaged.

I've just replaced the clutch lever but now I'm having troubles starting the bike :(
    When I try to start it, it seems to work. But then stalls after idling for 2-3 seconds.

I tried with the choke on, it won't even start. Choke off, it starts, idles for 2-3 seconds and stalls again.

It's still got half a tank of fuel.
    Fuel valve is set to ON.
    Kill switch is off.
    The bike's in Neutral.

Is it possible that there's no fuel in the carb? If so, how long do I need to leave the fuel valve in "Prime"?

Or is it a flat battery? Since the bike's been sitting in my garage for a whole week and all?

2. sometimes they can be abit trick to start when cold. Did you try moving the petcock to prime? and also twisting the throttle when starting?

I usually leave my fuel tap on pri while i put my gloves and helmet on, then set the choke to full, and while twisting the throttle (probably 1/3 of the way) i push the start button. starts fine even on the coldest of mornings.
    Just dont forget to switch the petcock back to on after its going.
  3. Tried that. Didn't work either.

Just had another few tries. Now the bike won't even start no matter what I do.