Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Grips and Bar End questions

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by JP, Jun 24, 2008.

1. I've decided I want to replace the grips and the bar ends on my VTR250. Im new to all the terminology so laugh quietly if you must.:LOL: I looked on eBay and noticed that most of the grips were for the Gixers, CBR's, and R1's, R6's. Are there different size handlebar grips and if so does anyone know what size for my bike? And also do you need to purchase bar ends seperately? Is it an easy job to replace these parts and what is involved? Many thanks for your time and advice.

2. I'm not sure about the '99 VTR250 but the '04 seems to have non-removable bar ends (handle-bar and bar ends seem permanently attached). So I guess you'd need to replace the handlebar as well...

You can get replacement OEM grips from your local Honda dealer for not much money... :)
  3. Hi JP. Yes there is really only one size of handlebars (7/8") and therefore grips. Bar ends are universal as well. The bar ends I've seen have a screw in the end that expands a bit of rubber up inside the bar. Loosen and they slide out. Depending on how stuck on the old grips are, you might have trouble getting them off and the new ones on. I've heard contact cleaner works pretty well as it lubricates then evaporates once the grip is on.

Cheers, Scott
  4. Not a 100% sure on the VTR and if the bar ends come off ..but.
    I replace mine today for first time ever :? .
    I went to Trevor jordans in the gong and got red and black ,pro grip ones for $25 :cool: .