Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Night_Stalker, Jun 6, 2006.

1. Hey all

I'm new to the forum and wanted to say Hi to everyone out there. I've been reading the forums over tha last few days and wanted to introduce myself.

I don't own a bike myself, but I'm looking to get my first ride some time in the coming months. I'm a reasonable mechanic, having worked on my share of cars, but no Bikes at this point.

The bank is a bit lean so I was also looking for a cheapish used bike, with a view towards restoration (for some reason any vehicle I drive always ends up leaving me in better condition than when I purhcased it). So I was wondering if anyone could recommend a good oldish bike to pick up and work on? I'm not worried too much about the money involved as I get a lot of enjoyment in the restoration.

2. welcome to the boards mate, sorry i can't offer any advice on cheap older bikes to restore.... actually i am a bit shocked that the OFRC haven't posted 10+ pages on old shitter that were the bee's knees of bikes 50+ years ago, that can now be can be restored and be a great bike :p :LOL:

nah you will find a few members here actually know there shit, problem is finding them, and following their advice.

ps. i am not one of the knowledge memebers :LOL: ;)
  3. Welcome :)
  4. Welcome to the friendly forum

Ignore stewy's provacative blurb, back in our days bikes were ....zzzzz .....zzzzzzz

Oh, sorry, dozed off there for a minute :LOL:

Why don't you get in contact with Typhoon, (Andrew) in Newcastle, he has a Kawasaki Z650 for sale, registered and all, but it would be fun to get it back to its former glory......