Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Greetings from Melbourne!

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' at netrider.net.au started by Layzie, Sep 19, 2014.

1. Hi Everyone. I’m Mathew from Melbourne. I am new to this forum, but have been reading through the threads for the past week or two. I am new to motorbikes and have never been on a motorbike at all however it has always been a dream of mine to ride. I didn’t even know what a LAMS bike was until last week. Reading peoples posts about their first experiences from getting their learners to getting their first LAMs bike has really got so eager to get my learners and hopefully a LAMS bike one day. I can see this as a new hobby that I would enjoy :).

Anyway, first things first. A mate of mine recommended me to get my Learners done at ‘Rider Bros’ – Calder Park Raceway. Do you know how much they charge for a Full Day course? Did any of you guys get your Learners at Rider Bros? If so, any feedback? Hoping to book my test sometime in October.

In terms of a LAMS bike I have done a bit of reading and research and the following bikes would seems to be a good starter bike:

Honda VTR250
    Suzuki GS500
    Kawasaki Ninja 250R
    Honda CBR250RR
    Hyosung GT250R

Looking forward to share experiences with you guys soon!

2. Hey Matt! Welcome to Net Rider!
    I recently got my L's down with Ride-Tek at Sandown Racecourse a month ago. I only did the half day course, but it was only $185 (got a discount). I'm pretty sure one of my mates did the full day course with Rider Bros though and didn't have any issues.
    I have just got a Ninja 300 myself which is excellent, but couldn't give you much info on the other bikes sorry.