Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

GPX250R Rear wheel noise when on centre stand

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' started by Milpool, Mar 3, 2016.

1. #1 Milpool, Mar 3, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2016
    I put my GPX250R up on it's centre stand today; pretty much just to have a look because I am new to riding and trying to learn things. I noticed that the rear wheel makes a grinding sort of noise when I turn it. I took a video of it which you can find here: Dropbox - VID_20160303_183455682.mp4

Is this something to be worried about? I've only had the bike a week so as far as I know it could been like this the whole time and it hasn't felt weird to ride or anything. My first thought was something to do with brakes grabbing but a roadworthy was done about two weeks ago before I bought it registered so that should have been checked I would have thought.

EDIT: Just checked and the front wheel is making the same noise.
  2. Maybe. It could be a number of things:

A chain problem - that one sounds overly tight and worn. Is it, and your sprockets worn? It looks like it could use a good clean. I'd start there.

It also could be a wheel bearing. - dropping the chain will allow you to listen to the bearing and brake. Brake noise is usually a fine scraping sound though. A wheel bearing is a serious and urgent thing. You don't want a wheel bearing to collapse on the go, which is what they will ultimately do. A rear will make your bike go fairly wonky. It can make you have a prang. Loosening your chain a bit and pushing and pulling from side to side on the tyre is one way to check for sloppiness in the bearing. Look for any lateral movement.