Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by GTR-90D, Nov 2, 2008.

1. Hi all,
    I have a problem with my bike that I can not explain.
    I'm technicial when it comes to cars but I am still learning about the bike.

Bike: 2005 GPX250R
    MOD: HID installed.

About a week ago on a nice hot day I went for a ride. I came back home and stopped to check mail in my letterbox. I would usually keep the engine running but I turned it off via the kill switch and turned key to off position.
    Got mail and put it in my backpack 30seconds later.

I turned the key to "ON". With he accessories lights on and gear in neutralI went to start the engine. I pressed the start button and as it was about to crank over the bike went dead. The electrical died. No signs of life. I turned the key to off and on again still not acc lights. No signs of life at all. Its like it just died. I had to roll the bike back to my parking spot.

My troubleshooting method:
    -Checked all fuses.
    All 10Amp fuses and the 30A fuse on the Starter Relay - FINE!

-Checked the voltage on the battery 12.6 volts. - FINE!

What else should I be checking?
    I will follow the electrical lines to troubleshoot to see where the short is.

your help is much appreciated.
  2. Did you reset the kill switch to the original position? The bike won't start otherwise.

Do you regularly use the kill switch to turn off the bike? It's unnecessary to do so, and while it kills the engine it leaves things like the headlight and dash still running. Turning the key to the off position is the intended way of turning off the bike. (My Kwaka manual says so :p)