Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

GPX250 not starting!!!1

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by mr_roboto, Feb 22, 2008.

1. Hey there,

Got myself a (not so new) GPX a little while ago and being a noob i left the ignition on 'push' so the battery went flat. So, I went and got it a new battery.
    Still wont start but. Battery is fully charged and all. We tried it a few times and tried push starting, but nothing happening.. So now, I don't know what it could be.

The starter is cranking, but the engine isn't 'catching'. Could it be spark plugs? Is there anything else there could be? Ive organised a mech to come out next week sometime, so if i can't fix it by then, I'll have to pay some one to fix it. Bleh.

Any ideas?
  2. Ensure it has fuel, and that the fuel tap is allowing flow, try it on reserve and on positions, if still won't start, pull hose off fuel tap that leads to carbs and check for fuel flow on both the above settings.

If you establish fuel is flowing, remove a spark plug lead one at a time, insert screwdriver into the boot where the plug goes, hold the screwdriver close to an earth, and crank engine with starter, spark should be easily visible.
  3. interesting
  4. Which way should the reserve switch be on? Right now its in the middle. I fiddled around with it when at first the bike stopped working, and I can't remember what it was on originally... :oops:

Should it be to the left or the right? It isn't marked.

I dont want to keep trying it too many times in case i flatten the battery again..
  5. The kickstands on the GPXs have a cut off switch (wont start if the stand is down) which often fugs up so you might want to look at that first.
  6. Tried the kill switch?