Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

GPS versus Smart phone

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Andrew West, Jun 11, 2015.

1. Hi guys
    After a question from a friend, I'm after input/suggestions of the pros and cons of a dedicated GPS versus using a smart phone and google maps.
    I have already mentioned that once the GPS is purchased there is no more ongoing costs (unless map updates are not included), where as a smart phone requires some provider plan and data costs could be an issue.
    The question was asked is there a difference between a dedicated motorcycle GPS and a everyday run of the mill car GPS, and because I have no experience with a motorcycle GPS all I could come up with is the cost.
    So any thoughts/recommendations or hands on experience would much appreciated.
    Cheers (y)

2. Google maps is good until you have no phone reception.
    A GPS unit will be there regardless.

The option I use is Navigon, on my phone. You download the maps to your SD card, so there's no data usage once you're out and about.
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  3. I prefer a dedicated GPS by a large margin over a smartphone.

But there are some (pretty significant) disadvantages of a motorcycle GPS, the main ones being that you still can't get one with an internet connection for online searches or traffic and the high cost of the unit. I know traffic isn't a big problem on a bike as you can filter, but I'd sure as hell rather take a quieter backroad than spend my entire journey filtering down a motorway if I know in advance there is traffic.