Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

GPS mounts & GPS units - Yamaha YZF-R3

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' at netrider.net.au started by Krazy Kiwi, Aug 22, 2015.

1. I'm new to motorcycle riding. After having a few lessons I purchased a Yamaha R3 and despite having a couple of learner hiccups, I'm slowly getting more confidence.

I'd like to put a GPS on my bike at some stage or another but I don't know anything about GPS mounts etc.

So I'm curious to find out what people's experiences are with GPS mounts and GPS units.

Does anyone here know what GPS mounts fit onto the Yamaha R3?
    And do people tend to use their phones to mount on their bike or do you prefer using a proper GPS gadget? If you prefer using a GPS specific gadget, what's good and what's good to avoid?!

(PS: I hope I've posted this in the right spot!!)

2. #2 Ned, Aug 22, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2015
    THIS seems to be a popular choice, check them out. Not sure what best suits your R3 but there'll be something that'll work for you.

Cheers.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Depends on your device too. I have a Garmin car GPS I use. And a $2 eBay plastic handle bar mount for it. Works a treat. But if you use plastic, be prepared for it to disintegrate one day to to elements and or vibration.

• Like Like x 1
  4. Yes I can imagine plastic not lasting too long a time on a bike lol ... I'm new to motorcycling so am trying to learn some basic motorcycling mechanics myself, and being able to do some stuff myself (I want to be able to change the oil myself etc).

I've just found this website that do motorcycling mounts ... they have custom ones, but none for the R3 yet, so I've emailed them asking what they can come up with for my R3: