Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

GOR Advice

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by I'm Simon, Feb 26, 2007.

1. G'day all, I am hoping to pass my licence test tomorrow and hopefully will be able to celebrate with a gentle ride along the GOR this weekend. I have never ridden this road and was hoping for some advice.

Is it suitable for newer riders ( I will be taking it easy, more of a sight seeing ride).

What are the better routes to take (I will be leaving from Werribee), was thinking of heading out to Winchlesea and then cutting through to the GOR via Deans Marsh, or is it better to sart from Anglesea and head toward Lorne / Apollo Bay etc.

Sorry for all the questions.
  2. I can't help you out with your GOR query as I've never done it before, but just wanted to say 'all the best' for tomorrow. :)

Let us know how you go. :)
  3. Thanks Rosie :) , will let you know.
  4. The GOR isn't too bad...

The main things I can suggest are... watch out for gravel on the sides of the road, especially near slow-vehicle turnouts, sometimes the middle if there's been a rockfall...

It can be wet and slippery in shadowy areas, as there's a lot of rainfall and humidity around the GOR. Takes a while to dry out.

Motorcyclists and car drivers alike can often be found coming towards you in your lane as they try to overtake slow vehicles - sometimes on blind corners, so stay fairly wide in the turns (late apex!)

It's a great touring road, though. :)

Not sure about alternate entry points - I entered from Anglesea, myself.