Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Good set of tools for beginner?

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by Danzotron, Nov 21, 2009.

1. Hi guys,

I've recently picked up a cheap bike from the wreckers that I bought with the intention of teaching myself about bike engines and maintenance. I've got the service / workshop manuals and stuff that I need. But no tools! I'm fairly new to all of this and hence I don't really know what tools I will need / should get. Is anyone able to give me a list of some tools that I should have or a good tool set to pick up that will cover all the basics and some of the advanced stuff that I might wanna do on this thing?

Any help / advice would be greatly appreciated..

2. Hello Dan,

This has been asked a few times before, so if you run a search you should get some really good info on what you may need or not need. The very first tool you should buy is a service manual for your particular model bike. I love the Haynes manuals over the actual factory service manuals cause they have lot of pikturs like. I like books with pikturs!

Good luck and well done with starting tooling your own bike. It's not too scary starting off and you can really save yourself some bucks.
  3. Set of sockets
    Set of spanners (open ended one end and ring the other is good.)
    Straight and phillips head screwdrivers
    Allen key set if your bike uses them
    Socket or tube spanner to fit your spark plug.
    Maybe set of feeler gauges for setting plug gap and valve gaps