Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Good post-Qride bike?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by rtyuiop, Sep 9, 2004.

1. Hey all,

Just to warn you all, a definite newbie here. So be afraid of stupid questions...

Basically, I'm after suggestions for a first bike and any recommendations for QRide providers... For some background, I woke up a few weeks ago and thought I should go and get my bike license... I've had a bike learners on my car license for the last 7 years, but have never bothered to do anything about it.

I've decided I'll probably never be able to afford to kill myself in a flying accident like I'd want, so will have to settle for doing it in a riding accident :D. But basically will be riding for fun and maybe commuting into the city on occasion.

I'll be doing Q-Ride, so have some options as to what sort of bike to get. Am looking for something that has a bit more go than a 250... But not so much more I'm likely to kill myself accelerating out of the first corner.

My tastes lean towards sports tourers, and I don't care if it's naked or faired. Something like a ZZR600, but I'm worried that it's likely to be too quick for a learner. Caught the bike bug as a pillion on a friend's ZZR1100, so maybe I'm biased! Cheap is also important - I'll be keeping the car, so don't want to spend too much. 4 grand or thereabouts is probably about right.

Thanks for any info!

2. Welcome to the forum Danny! There's not one of us here with a death wish except Groberts who wants to die like his grandfather. I'm on L's as are many of us & we only learn by asking questions so ask away! What area are you in & we may have someone who can ride with you, the advice I've had from experienced riders riding with me has & still is invaluable!