Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Going from a 250 to a 900 or so ...?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by Sunflower, Dec 26, 2007.

1. Been riding a 250 for 6 months want to upgrade when I can to a 1000cc motorcycle been told its quite a jump to a bigger bike though with a little adjustment time I don't see the big deal. Any advice or main things to look out for??

2. I'm no expert and I can't say what you should look for but what i will say is don't worry about the jump in power, it makes no differance as it depends entirely how you ride.

For example I had a 250 and rode it for 6 months then didn't touch a motorbike for 6 or 7 years, then my first bike to bring me back into the game was a 1000, then an 800 and now I have a 1400. The jump in power is only a danger if you ride like an idiot or rev the crap out of the motor which as the size of the engine goes up; the less you have to do this. We're talking all legal riding ofcourse.

Make other considerations bigger priorities like comfort, what sort of riding you intend to do, costs and so on.

3. did you feel any difficulty in handling with a bigger bike? I'm a smallish female and have been told by one or two people that a 900 or 1000 would be too big for me to handle !?! but I don't really agree though I'm open to the fact maybe I'm wrong and they are right. Unless you drop the bike does the heavy factor really come into it?

4. No, the bike is balanced and if you ride "right" and you can balance it at the lights......................no worries

5. I have the same worries.