Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

God V Darwin

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by TRA, Feb 15, 2011.

1. Being an athiest, I dismiss 'God' pretty easily. This is based mainly on the fact that I am an engineer and scientist at heart, so I like to see evidence. In a nutshell, I see plenty of evidence supporting darwin, and none supporting the bible. I was bought up as a roman catholic, when to private catholic schools so have been surrounded by this crap all my life.

However, to this date, I have never really sat down and pondered the whole philosophical 'God has a master plan' thing and 'God knows each and every one' and the praying to god thing. I never did get it, but never really put much though into it, I was far more interested in the amazing things that we see in evolutionary biology, and I can see those progressive links that darwin discusses.

Anyway, I was on my yacht the other day, anchored up of moreton island having a few quite rums by myself and marvelling at the dophins swimming around my boat. I started thinking about the religious argument. The more I think about now, the more stupid is seems. I just cant get over the fact that people actually beleive this stuff. Something like 7 billion people on this planet and some person has a plan for each and every one, as well as listening to prayers and crap. Seriously, give me a break. I just dont get how people can worship something as a person, when that thing does not exist.