Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

GN250 rear brake light constantly on

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by Joosch, Oct 16, 2012.

1. heya,

first post so if this is somehow in the wrong section or something let me know.

ill get right to the chase, i am no mechanic and everything i have looked at/for i have read on other forums through out the web, i am an IT guy so my knowledge is limited.

my buddy bought me a 1990 GN250 for my birthday so i could learn to ride and hang with him more, it has had a few problems over the time i have had it but none that we wouldn't just google and fix, i like the bike and one day i hope to mod it up like the bobber/cafe racers i see everywhere but the current problem which has both of us stumped and i can't find a fix anywhere for is the brake light. few days ago i realised that the brake light was constantly on so i googled and there were a few reasons people said, stuck switches,bulbs, springs or the light switch.

i had a look today and i replaced the bulb, had a look at the front brake lever and the switch on it which to me looked fine, i took the lever off and pressed the switch in but nothing happened. i looked at the springs on the back brake pedal and they looked fine to me.i also loosened the bolt so the foot pedal would sit back further and maybe turn it off but it didnt. I found the rear light switch(not sure if that's what its called?) but i have no idea what to look for and its hard to get to.

any ideas would be great, i have no cash so i cant take it to a mechanics D: