Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

GIRL ISSUES with motorbikes

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by hashius, Jul 6, 2005.

1. hi guys im new to the scene ,and i am really keen to find a motorbike for myself.Now the problem is my wife has some BIG issues regarding bike riding.Could you guys "dispel" some of the bulshit and give us some real info about how DANGEROUS biking really is

cheers guys thanks
    P.S im plannin to get a zzr 250 :p
  2. Bike riding is essentially the same as driving a car. It primarily depends on YOUR attitude, ability, and attention. Just as you can kill and be killed in a car, you can kill and be killed on a motorcycle. If you ride a motorcycle appropriately, it's my arguable opinion that you can often be safer on top a bike than in a car. A motorcyclist is primarily free of distraction and realises that concentration and attention is paramount, and thus rides with those qualities .. whilst a car driver is more happy to lose focus with a radio, yaking to a passenger, mobile phone, not looking over shoulder etc.

What is your wife's concerns? We can address them with more focus if we know them :)
  3. Hi hashius
    Motorcycling IS dangerous. You have two fewer contact patches with the road than in a car. You have no physical protection from being hit, either by a car or an object, and you have little physical protection from injury if you fall off. If you DO fall off, friction or impact will eventually stop you; both hurt!
    But for every downside, there is an up side, and that is that NOTHING is like the sensation and enjoyment of riding a motorcycle.