Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Getting My License

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by thatfella, Sep 6, 2011.

1. Hello,

I suppose this is the right place to write this. Lots of good people with good advice.

So my problem is a bit unsual, I have been riding a scooter, illegally in Europe for maybe 8 or 9 years while living there. (little village).

Anyway now back in Sydney I had to get my permit to ride a scooter which I did. Now I am on my P plates on the scooter, but its not the same as when overseas.

I decided I want to get a motorbike license but seems I cant. The RTA tell me I got to finish my P plate and then get an unrestricted license. They tell me I cant even go back to get my L's on a motorbike with gears.

So If I want to learn riding a motorbike I am not allowed, until in 6 months I finish my P plates, then I can ride automatic or with gears. But I want to learn the gears.

So I called some places but they want $200 per hour to teach me the gears. Does this sound right that I cannot learn to ride a motorbike with gears until I finish the P plates ?

2. Must be a NSW thing. You can ride either in Vic. You can also do a pre learners course for $50 I thing which would teach you the basics I thing. It's not hard anyway. You can learn gears in about 5 minutes.

3. Very unusual.

Most of the time, you just need to go re-take the same test on the thing you're trying to get approved for.

For example, my friend got his automatic car license ($200 fee), then added manual on to it a few months later by retaking the test in a manual car ($50 fee).

4. Yes I can do the test for P again. My problem is that because I have automatic license I cannot ride manual bike to practice for this test.