Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Getting a bike without a license

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by julzzz, Jan 20, 2006.

1. Hey Guys, been reading these forums for a month (great find!) My question is, is it possible to purchase a bike without holding a motorbike license? I am just getting into riding again after about a 9 year absense...I am in the process of getting my L's again around mid february. I have been looking at a few classifieds and have found bikes that I would not mind owning. By the way I am not going to be riding it unlicensed, I will get a friend to pick the bike up....basically I just want to secure a purchase.

Thanks in advance

julz

2. Private sale?? Sure you can. you just can't get a loan for the cash unless you get a personal loan. And you can't get insurance for it either.

My BF got his ZZR250 before he had his L's. He had the money for it in cash from selling his car. my dad picked it up for him & brought it to our house. There it sat, in the shed, for a month as my BF waited for his L's class. Soon as he had the licence, he registered & insured it.

3. I purchased my bike 2 days from a dealer before getting my L's, so yes you can

4. Thanks for the reply,

I guess I can put any potential purchase under a friends name (money is not a problem here)...and then just transfer the ownership of the bike to myself when I get my license...or better still just wait to get my license :)

Julz

5. Cool, undii...but was that before the prelearner rider training or after...as I have not done mine yet.

Julz

6. Hmm, I think you can insure the bike (for at least fire/theft) before getting your licence. Happy to be corrected though :)