Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

General Info for noobs- from a noob (test/gear/bike etc)

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by I am the Stig..., Jul 23, 2007.

1. I’m just starting off with biking (and new to this forum), so I thought I’d post up a few bits of general info that might come in handy for complete novices from my experiences thus far (which I still very much am… :) )

Bikes – I spent a good 2-3 months going to bike shops, talking to friends who already ride, looking on bikesales etc. to get a good idea of what’s out there. Obviously, had a good scan of netrider too for tips and guidance . Also scanned google for online reviews of bikes in Aus, UK and US – but only started doing this when I knew which bike I wanted. Also, same method has gotten me an owners manual of my bike, so I have a good reference point for the controls/mechanics of the machine. I’ve ended up buying 2nd hand from a dealership which gives me the peace of mind on the mechanicals etc.