Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

General Bike Maintencance?

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' at netrider.net.au started by morericewong, May 16, 2008.

1. hey guys

I just got a gt250r and i'm pretty new at the bike scene and haven't got too much of an idea on how to look after it. would you guys be able to give me some tips on what should be done regularly to keep the bike in shape?

I already know about lubing the chain which i find quite difficult without a bike stand and checking tyre pressure. what other thing should i look at?

2. Hey.

Change oil every 4000kms, filter every second time you change the oil. Follow the service schedule in the book (don't miss services else you may void your warranty if you still have it).

Clean chain every 1000kms, lube after every 2nd tank or more if its raining / don't ride often.

Also theres spark plugs.. probably every 12k Clean and lube/replace air filter - every second oil change.

3. Whatever the book says..................
    Buy a race stand (rear)

If it's new run the tools over everything after 300k. Lots of things work loose. A quick weekly check over goes a long way to saving cash in the long run.

Dont lube the chain to much. How much is a tough one. A kero clean of the chain a few times a year goes a long way too.

4. sorry jared have to disagree with you on the chain cleaning one. i havent cleaned my chain once on the firestorm, just a light lube every 500klicks or so, and im expecting to get 40000plus out of it. i used to go through chains in 20000kms on the 250 when i cleaned them all the time. problem with cleaning them is you generally wash the lube between the o rings and the rollers which will kill your chain quicked than saying "bugger not another 150 bucks on a chain"