Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Gears in 1993 Suzuki Across

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by stevensaaron, Mar 6, 2007.

1. HI i am a newbie to this site (I live across the ditch). I ride a 1993 suzuki across. when changing gears it feels quite clunky. changing from 1st - 2nd (through neutral) it get stuck on nuetral then i have to chang in to 2nd again. and it sound like something is rattling. then sometimes it is sweet as. but 60% of the time it is the latter situation. what should i do. thanks.

2. Hi mate i have a 93 across too, mine wasnt too bad but i put it in for a service and they put new oil in it which made it feel better. I also adjusted the gear lever down a touch and i never hit neutral now.
  3. What is a Cam Chain Tensioner? Where is it on the bike? is it the place on the back wheel where you tighten the chain.
  4. Where can i get a Workshop manual for my bike. and a owners manual.
  5. The cam chain tensioner would be refering to the timing chain which is in the motor. If you type in suzuki across manual in google there are some really helpful pages and workshop manual too. If you cant find it i can look where i saved a copy and email to you if the file size isnt too big.
  6. Toss decent quality oil in it and dont be a pussy changin gears, Its a suzuki for gods sake. Strongest thing ever made, slam it thru in 1 swift assertive change

You can download the manual and see much more info specific to that model.

http://www.twincam.info/index.php?showforum=33 (direct link)

There is also a new blog I think at www.suzukiacross.com created by one of the users from the twincam forum.