Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Gearing Down

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by LiLEd, Jun 25, 2006.

1. Hi guys,

Im a newbie at riding and loving it. Havent had so much fun for so little money and love my bike to bits. I got a question for some more experienced riders. When gearing down why do people give the throttle a squirt as there going down in the gears.(With the clutch in). Kinda like double cluching but not. hehehe i know one thing it sounds tuff, ive kinda noticed it helps if you get a green lite while still moving. Let us know your thoughts guys.

Ed
    :p

2. It makes the gear change smoother - when you drop a gear the engine has to rev faster to maintain the same speed - by revvind you increase engine speed so there is no "jolt" when you release the clutch...

3. never really thought about the benefits just a habit that i have had for 27 years :shock:

4. Better Gears

Yeah ive noticed it makes it smother. But i never thought of the benifits till now while i was watching some bike clips. hehehhe I think ill be doing it for years to come.

ED

5. well when you think about it if you give it a little throttle the engine will speed itself up and you will drop less energy when you let the clutch out, than you will if the tyre has to speed your engine up and obviously drop speed.

It's also the basis for clutch braking (terrible habit my mum taught me in the car that i've since dropped..(no pun intended))