Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Gearbox issues?

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by CelticKnight, Sep 9, 2010.

1. Yeah, took the XR250R for a spin this afternoon, FINALLY had a chance (and bravery, I'm new at this remember!) to get the bike into top gear! Woo hoo..

Anyway, on the way back i found a strait stretch and opened it up, 5th gear (or was it sixth, either way. top gear) at almost full revs the DAMN THING DROPPED INTO NEUTRAL. Lost ALL power to the back wheel, sudden deceleration with me swearing like a trooper. Did what you would immediately expect.. *shit there goes 5th gear! Get on the brakes slow down, revs drop, FOURTH GEAR! Clutch, change down, release clutch, engine screams.. still no power. still in neutral. Why is it suddenly no letting me get ANY GEARS?!

I pulled the bike to a complete stop, and worked my way back to what i hopped was first, Let the clutch out and gave it some stick, Zip. Nothing, neutral still!

Moved it to what i think was second, still nothing, back to first.. Up to neutral.

Moved it back to first gear for the 3rd try, THIRD TIME LUCKY it locked into first gear and i was off, worked my way slowly back up to 5th, it locked fifth in and it didnt say boo for the rest of the trip home (okay was kinda stressed, its an second hand bike, and i thought i might be pushing the bloody thing 5KM to home!!)

Anyway. What on earth would cause a bike to drop from top gear to aparently neutral with NO warning whatsoever? I didnt hear an almighty crunch, there was no warning, just total loss of power to the back wheel.

Yes i can hear someone say 'CHECK YA CLUTCH' or 'Ha you had in fourth' or that i had something to do with it.. I didn't.