Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Gear Shifting

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by 1nf3rn0, Aug 18, 2008.

1. Hi all,

I'm new to riding and have a newby questing, at how many RPMs should I be up shifting and down shifting? I'm have a Honda CBR125 if this helps.

2. Up - 5k and above
    Down -2k and below

Rough estimates, but with time and practice, you'll know when to shift. A good newbie test for too low is when you take off and the bike shudders, you should shift down a gear :oops:
  3. That's out for a CBR125R. They don't have anything under 3 kay. Try;

Up - 5 kay and above
    Down - 3.5 kay and below
  4. Learnt something new today. I did sit on a CBR125 for a laugh, looked like a kids bike with me on it. Didn't take notice of the dials. :wink:
  5. Been riding since saturday, I generally shift up around 10-11k if I am booting it (redline is 14k) and shift down whenever there is a corner aproaching :p

Actually to be honest I have no idea, I just play it by feel and sound like I do when driving. I generally cruise around in 6th though. (I think my bike has 6 gears.....maybe its only 5...hmm)
  6. if you downshift at high rpms, you are in for a nasty surprise :)
  7. I ride my brothers CBR125 somewhat often when i get a bit bored, i noticed that it only takes a second from take off to red line it on first gear, so try to shift mid way through first's rev range in order to avoid red lining.

As for down shifting, even though it's a small bike make sure you get into the habit of blipping on downshifts so you're all good when you get a bigger bike.
  8. Can you explain this blipping on downshifting? I think I know what you're talking about, and I think I know what it is and why one does it, but I just want to make sure...