Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Gear Lever reach

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Renee_AW, Sep 8, 2008.

1. I am new to riding & have a Kawasaki GPX250 Ninja (2006). I find it good to ride but I have size 5 shoes & when I have my foot under the gear lever it only just reaches meaning I have to move my whole leg a long way forward to change the gears up.

I don't yet have motorcycle boots & am wondering if these will make a difference (i.e. I will be able to change gears with the toe part of the boot) or whether I should see if I can buy a shorter gear lever & fit this.

2. Boots may help you. Most boots have shift pads, or harder material on the toes, helps to keep wear down on your boots.

Otherwise you might need to find out if you can get longer shifters for your bike so you don't need to move your foot as far.

BTW, Welcome to Netrider :wink: :)
  3. Thank you & for the welcome too.

I love my new bike - something I have always wanted to do but never done until now. I am almost totally consumed by it & curse the days it rains because it is another day I can't practice (not experienced enough for wet roads yet).
  4. Hey Renee,

Boots might indeed help. I was at MCAS in Auburn (the new store) on Sat and noticed there were a few ladies boots (can’t remember the brands) that had semi-pointy ends to them. Might help with the reach! :)

Good luck!

5. Wet roads are not that scary. All you need to remember is to be smooth in braking and accelerating, don't lean the bike too much in corners and increase your crash avoidance space.