Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Gear for Newbie

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by biker one, Dec 29, 2006.

1. Hello,
    I'm just getting into motorcycles, and still looking for the bike I will buy.
    I'm narrowing that down every day...my concern now is...the riding gear.
    When I walk through the bike shops, I have no idea where to start, what to guy etc. I just feel so bloody lost.
    Like how do I start to buy this stuff? It all looks like it is something that will take time to get used to wearing.
    Can anybodu offer me how to go about this?

2. Are you planning to ride everyday or just on a sunny Saturday? Gentle cruzing in suburbs or do you want to play high speed in the twisties? The gear you want will depend on where and when you want to ride. Do you require waterproof gear or do you want things you can wear in a pub without looking out of place?

You must have a helmet. I would highly recomend a full face item and expect to pay around $300 for a good one. You can spend a lot more than that but you don't need to. The money is mostly for the paint job, but all that really matters is that the lid fits. You should also have gloves and boots. Get leather and expect to pay around $80 for the gloves and $200-$300 for entry level boots. You can get cheaper but the armour on hands and feet is worth it. Make sure your gloves will overlap the jacket around 2 inches.