Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Gear for new rider

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by ImSkitzoAndSoAmI, Dec 30, 2014.

1. I'm picking up an MT-07 tomorrow, if all goes to plan. I have $1,400 in the finance to spend at the dealer - planning on buying most or all gear from the dealer (hoping they will look after me, although it doesn't really feel like that so far).

Being new to road riding (I have been riding dirt for close to 20 years), I need everything. I have been reviewing other similar threads to this one and I'm clear that fitment is the first priority. The dealer mentioned today they have Shark and Bell helmets. I assume they have other brands, but possibly not.

Can I please get any advice people feel like chucking out there in regards to what gear I should be aiming for? I don't mind spending what I have to spend (over and above the financed amount if necessary) - I want to be as safe as possible.
  2. As a new rider (12 months) my 2 cents would be as follows.
    This is only my 2 cents worth and I value more experienced riders comments too!

1. Helmets - Don't get hung up on brand names, each make is different in sizing and shape. Try the helmets on for around 15 mins, it should be snug but not to the point of leaving red marks and giving you an ice cream headache. My helmet which is around 6 months old is starting to feel a little loose as the pads have started to compress with use.
    2. Boots - depend on taste but make sure they have ankle support as chances are you will drop your bike and possible on you. I did and I was wearing racing style shoes, I was lucky but if the bike had hit my ankle.........