Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Gear changing

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by sih81, Jun 24, 2008.

1. HELP! I am a learner driver and have just bought a new Honda CBR125R. I've only done 300km on it and am finding it increasingly difficult to change down the gears (eg to slow down/stop) Tonight I couldnt change down to any gear and was stuck in the middle of the road attempting to do a right turn in 5th (very dangerous as I was unable to move!). In the end I had to hold the clutch in and push the bike across the road - it then took me a good 5 minutes to get the bike into a gear. I tried letting the clutch out a bit and I got a buzzing noise like something was not connecting. I have phoned the dealer who has told me they will look at it when it goes in for the 1000 km service (it's looking like it will be going back a lot sooner). I wanted to ask this question to anyone who reads the forum to see if it is something I am doing. I am trying to save myself a trip to the dealers which takes me along a few roads I would rather not drive along (eg Pennant Hills Road and James Ruse Drive!) Any assistance would really be appreciated.

2. you may have had foot resting on the gear lever while riding... i too had some trouble while i was learning and the bike wouldnt go down gears
  3. Would that mean you would have to click the gear peddle back up 5/6 clicks to get it back to where its meant to be, then change back down again?
  4. Nope, gear levers are a single action - to change down gears, you need to physically move the lever down and back to rest position for each gear shift. The bike won't change down multiple gears if you are just resting your foot on the lever, it will only change down once.