Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Gday im new to the scene, and would like some clarification.

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by richard_mmmm, Mar 19, 2005.

1. Hi all, I have just decided to get back into riding angain (used to ride alot when younger but havn't for afew years and untill not have never held a bike licence for the road)
    I have a gold licence for cars and am 24 years old, how long do i need to hold a licence for before I can legally ride an unrestricted bike?

Also I want to get either an R1 or cbr1000rr, I have not ridden for years so I am under no illusions that I am a great rider on the road, what should I get as a first bike? (was thinking CBR250r, don't want too small a bike, physically, as I am pretty big at almost 100kg) and how long should I wait before getting the R1 etc?

I know It comes down to experiance etc (but i am hoping it comes back to me quickly).

Thank you in advance.

richard.

2. gday richard,

As far as i know, if your in QLD you can start on whatever the hell bike you want i think. If your in NSW or VIC you'd be restricted for atleast 15 months (L's for atleast 3 and P's for 12).

In NSW theres a scheme called LAMS ( Learner approved motorcycle scheme ) :D that allows you to ride certain machines above 250cc.

The first bike question come up alot on these forums, and the answer is usually the same. Sit on as many bikes as you can, and test ride as many as you can before making any choices. You're the bloke whos shelling out the dollars, and you're the bloke who has to live with the bike.

My advice, get something that'll keep you happy till your off your restrictions, if they apply.

3. g'day richo and welcome

as for info what goose said :D